2019 Results

Vw Nationals #5 was by far the largest and best turnout to date. With a total of 103 Tech Cards sold and both sides of the track packed this is the MUST ATTEND event of the year. Promoter Scott Pocaro puts his heart and soul into this once a year event nestled just outside Hagerstown Maryland at one of the coolest tracks in the country titled Mason Dixon Dragway. With a beautiful weather forecast for the weekend festivities kicked off on Friday night with 2 very special classes.

The first was the 55 and older class for the old timers in our community to come back out and show case how it all started. Some of the east coasts biggest names in drag racing made the call on Friday night. Racers such as Pete Peek, Virgil Prehn, Buddy Chicklo and Gene Cook Sr were part of the 55 and older class. In the end it was Virginia’s own Virgil Prehn taking the win over a red lighting Gene Cook Sr.

Another special class on Friday night was the High Rollers Class. It featured a $100 buy in, and with additional sponsor money chipping in the pot was almost $3,000. Racers from as far south as the Carolina’s and as far north as Massachusetts made the drive for this special event. In the finals it was New Jerseys own Scott Pocaro facing off against North Carolinas Trey Sikes. It was over as soon as it started as Scott Pocaro turned on the red light.

On Saturday the main event featured 7 drag racing classes. The Jaycee Enterprises Heritage Series brought it’s 2 classes featuring the fastest Outlaw Pro Mods on the east coast and the best bracket racers from the North and South. Also, a special Thanks to Kathy Jacobs from the SEVWA for jumping on board and making this an SEVWA points race as well. Here is a quick breakdown of what we had in attendance.


-       Island Dub A/GAS Outlaw Pro Mod
-       Rancho Performance I/GAS (SEVWA Super Pro)
-       Aircooled Street Car Association (ASA)
-       Limited Street
-       All Motor
-       H/Gas (SEVWA Pro)
-       Super Stock

In the Rancho Performance Transaxles I/GAS (Super Pro) we had 26 racers battle it out for the best bracket cars that are 7.99 and quicker. In the final round it paired off 2 of the longest active racers on the east coast. Both hailing from Virginia it was Michael Hall against Bruce Ridgeway. Bruce had the advantage off the starting line with a .012 reaction time to Michaels .036. At the top end Bruce was too consistent and laid down an almost perfect dial in with a 6.911 on a 6.910 to give him the win over Michael who broke out with a 7.09 on a 7.13 dial in. For those who are looking for a turn key winning car Bruce is selling his All Glass Act and you would be owning a piece of east coast drag racing history.

In the Island Dub A/GAS Outlaw Pro Mod class we had 13 cars enter into the field. We had a mix of EFI Air Cooled, Draw Through Air Cooled, EFI Water Cooled, Nitrous Air Cooled and even an All Motor Pro Stock car making an attendance in this class. After qualifying was finished, we had 5 cars running in the 5 second zone. Taking the top spot was Stephen Hawes with a 5.49 @ 121mph. Closely behind him was Brad McBride in his Front Engine VR6 Fast back with a 5.65 @ 119mph. In the end it was Brad and Stephen facing off for the title. At the start of the race Stephen had the advantage with a better Reaction time and 60’ but that was quickly taken away when the car got out of shape and Brad drove around him for the win posting a 5.80 @ 124mph to Stephens 5.90 @ 124mph. Congratulations to Brad for making the long drive up from NC to take the win in A/GAS.

Other notable winners were

-       All Motor – Ben Zarpentine
-       Limited Street – Kevin Bartleson
-       ASA – Jason Goodyear
-       H/GAS – Trey Sikes
-       Super Stock – Trey Sikes